SiteMap
To search, type one or more key words below.
Search racematters.org Search the web.
 Page Bottom 

Enough: Phony Leaders, Dead-End Movements, Culture of Failure Undermining Black America

From Publishers Weekly: When Bill Cosby addressed a 50th-anniversary celebration of Brown v. Board of Education, he created a major controversy with seemingly inoffensive counsel ("begin with getting a high school education, not having children until one is twenty-one and married, working hard at any job, and being good parents"). Building from Cosby's speech, NPR/Fox journalist Williams offers his ballast to Cosby's position. Williams starts with the question, "Why are so many black Americans, people born inside the gates of American opportunity, still living as if they were locked out from all America has to offer?" His answers include the debacle of big-city politics under self-serving black politicians; reparations as "a divisive dead-end idea"; the parlous state of city schools "under the alliance between the civil rights leaders and the teachers' unions"; and the transformation of rap from "its willingness to confront establishment and stereotypes" to "America's late-night masturbatory fantasy." A sense of the erosion of "the high moral standing of civil rights" underlies Cosby's anguish and Williams's anger. Politically interested readers of a mildly conservative bent will find this book sheer dynamite. (Aug.) Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Reviews: Advance Praise for Enough:

"Written in the tradition of DuBois and King, Enough is an impressively powerful and courageous book. Williams delivers a blunt and bracing challenge to black America." —David J. Garrow, author of the Pulitzer Prize—winning Bearing the Cross and Senior Fellow at Cambridge University

"A courageous and much-needed primer on race relations in America today." —Thomas Sowell, author of Black Rednecks and White Liberals and Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution

"Enough is a breath of fresh air and a long overdue, critical insight into today's stereotypical nonsense that has unfortunately been passing as the new black culture." —Donna Brazile, political commentator for CNN and former campaign manager for Al Gore in 2000

"Juan Williams has, through Bill Cosby, spoken for the quiet majority of African Americans who desperately look for some voice to articulate what they know is truth. . . . I highly recommend Enough to those who are really interested in knowing our nation's history, and specifically the odyssey of African Americans in this country." —Douglas Wilder, mayor of Richmond, Virginia, and former governor of Virginia

"Juan Williams isn't afraid to give Cosby his props, showing us that a lot of what people call black conservatism is plain common sense." —John McWhorter, author of Winning the Race: Beyond the Crisis in Black America

Amazon.com

horizontal line
What's New Page to home page e-mail  Page Top